Username:

Password:

Remember me

• Find Us On Facebook

State of 40K

Have a question on how to do something, why something is done the way it is or an idea to make the files or site better? Ask it here.

State of 40K

#1  Postby Homer_S » Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:27 pm

OK,

I used to enjoy maintaining these data files. I have been doing this since 2006, nearly 10 years. I used to enjoy discussing rules and their various interactions and how best to represent that in the Army Builder fileset. It is discussions like this which make me want to revisit that feeling. If an entire thesaurus has to be brought to bear on someone's reading of a rule, I begin to wonder if the game designers have just given up on writing rules which do not require a law degree, from a British university, to decipher clearly. Apparently a Ph.D. is no longer sufficient.

I’m going to ignore Army Builder until the 30 day window pertaining to Codex: Craftworlds is up. If you see a datafile at that point, I’m back. If not, consider this my 30 day notice.

Homer
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
Homer_S
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: State of 40K

#2  Postby Engrimm » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:50 am

Don't let one person ruin what you enjoy doing, hundreds if not thousands of people use army builder only because there's people like you behind it. If a couple people can't have a proper conversation when debating a rule and still can't see reason even when you provide all the evidence they really should need then it's not your fault. Just ignore people like that, as I said before hundreds if not thousands of people are thankful for what you and the other maintainers do. Most don't show it, most don't even know that you don't get paid for doing this (and I strongly disagree with this, you SHOULD get something, but's that's another topic) but all are glad that they're able to use the best army builder resource there is.